Buckwheat Apple Pancakes/Crêpes americaines de sarrasin aux pommes

Don’t you just love eating pancakes for dinner? That’s exactly what I did with these babies and they’re so healthy you don’t even have to feel guilty about it!…..OK I know what you’re all thinking ‘another pancake recipe!’ But this one’s totally different. You could say it’s the ying to the ricotta hotcakes‘ yang

This recipe is for those of you who are looking for a more humble gluten free pancake or a simple wholesome treat to tickle your palate.

These pancakes don’t need to change their name to be sexy and with only two tablespoons of sugar, there’s no excuse not to make them.

This is a handy recipe for those you who always seem to have an apple or two hanging around the house. They taste great drizzled with some honey or maple syrup but then the apples offer some natural sweetness so they also taste great on their own.

Enjoy!

Buckwheat Apple Pancakes

Serves 2
Share

  • 1/4 cup/45g buckwheat flour
  • 1/4 cup/37g brown rice flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar (I used 1 tbsp coconut sugar & 1 tbps light muscovado)
  • 1 egg and 1 egg yolk, lightly whisked
  • 1/3 cup/65ml milk
  • 1 apple, peeled grated.

Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl. Add the milk and the egg and whisk until smooth. Fold in the apples.

Heat a non stick frying pan over low heat, add a little oil, put 1/4 of a cup of the apple mixture into the frying pan. Fry one side until medium brown or bubbles appear on the surface.

Turn over and fry until cooked through.

Adapted from www.taste.au

VF

Crêpes americaines de sarrasin aux pommes

Pour deux personnes
Share

  • 37g de farine de riz complète
  • 45g de farine de sarrasin
  • 2 cuillères à soupe de sucre (j’avais utilisé 1 c à c sucre de noix de coco & 1 c à c de sucre de canne roux (muscovado)
  • 1/2 cuillère à café de cannelle en poudre
  • 65 ml de lait
  • une pomme, pelée et râpée
  • un oeuf et un jaune d’oeuf, légèrement battus

Mélangez tous les ingrédients secs dans un saladier. Ajoutez l’oeuf, le jaune d’oeuf et fouettez jusqu’à ce que la pâte devienne lisse. Incorporez les oeufs.

Faites chauffer un poêle avec un peu d’huile.

Faites cuire 1/4 tasse/65ml du mélange pomme à petit feu et retournez lorsque les crêpes deviennent dorés et les petites bulles se forment sur la surface.

Faites cuire l’autre face de la même façon.

Adaptée de www.taste.com.au

14 thoughts on “Buckwheat Apple Pancakes/Crêpes americaines de sarrasin aux pommes

  1. You know, I think I had a variation of this recipe in Burgundy, France, of all places. I couldn’t believe that the chef served us American-style pancakes but they were definitely thicker than crepes and he covered them with the most delicious chocolate sauce. I had been wanting the recipe — you have made my day!

  2. The first time I tried buckwheat pancakes was in France too! I remember it was a savoury galette and I swore I’d never eat them again! What can I say, young and naive… I’m glad you found what you were looking for, I’ve had lost recipe moments too and am always excited when I find it. Happy Eating!

  3. another one on the list to try but this one i dont think I’ll try to make. I’d rather taste from someone who already makes them so i know for sure what its supposed to taste like :)

    now the dilemma is finding a place here that has these on its menu!

    • hmm… you got me there. I’ve never eaten buckwheat pancakes in London, they tend to have gluten in them so I generally make them at home. Not sure where you live or if you’re gluten free, but you could try ‘my old dutch’, I’m sure they’ll have something similar, or if you’re looking for a buckwheat crepe, there’s ‘la galette’ on paddington street or ‘la creperie’ in hampstead but none of those places are gluten free! If only you could ship hot pancakes. I’d send you some ;)

  4. I am dying to try this recipe. I just need to find some buckwheat flour on my next trip out of the country. I keep seeing it in all these recipes and am dying to use it!

  5. Do it! It’s sooo easy to make, I had the longest list of flours to buy, when I lived in Tunisia, which is why I’m so flour crazy now! It’s a great nutritious gfree flour and I’m sure you love it one you get your hands on it!

  6. I have some buckwheat flour leftover from making a cake that needs using up…I think I know what to use it for! Thanks.

  7. Pingback: Gluten Free Breakfast Special | The Curious Baker

Leave a Reply

