Extremely Nutty Chocolate Shards/Brisures de chocolat à base de noix

Snow is cool.

I admit that initially I had some reservations, once upon a time

and snow isn’t so cool when year after year it brings the whole country to a standstill…….

But the inches deep, I-can’t-believe-it-snowed-all-night-and-all-day kind of snow that crunches under your feet and leaves frost on trees and footprints on the ground is pretty cool.

I have to admit I threw this together with some good old-fashioned leftovers gusto. After my initial excitement and frolic in the snow, I quickly realised  that although snow may be cool, it’s also damn cold!  Once I’d defrosted my fingers and toes I soon decided that I’d had enough fun in the snow to last the week and refused to make the one hour trek to whole foods or any local shop for that matter, to stock up on baking goods.

So I raided my cupboards, to discover I had what seemed like hundreds of bags and of half opened  nuts and a lonely looking box of gluten-free cereal ready to be put to use.

It was all done rather quickly with lots of ‘hmmm’s’ and ‘ah’s’ and hand measuring, so forgive me if the recipe’s  not 100%  accurate but it sure was tasty.

I suggest, on the last shopping weekend before Christmas, forget about braving the snowstorms and the Christmas crowds and make these chocolate shards for your gluten-free friends instead!

Extremely Nutty  Chocolate Shards

Brown rice syrup works well as a substitute for date syrup.

  • 1/4 cup/35g pecan nuts
  • 1/4 cup/30g hazelnuts
  • 1/4 cup/15g almonds
  • 1/2 cup/36g gluten free chocolate rice krispies/cocoa krispies(U.S.), I used these
  • 3 tbsps puffed millet
  • 3tbsps pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tbsps flaxseed
  • 2 tbsps rice bran
  • 1/2 cup/80ml date syrup (may need to add more depending on consistency and taste).
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F.

Lightly grease a small baking tray with cooking oil.

Spread the pecan nuts, hazelnuts and almonds on a baking sheet and toast until they start to smell fragrant.

Once cooled, coarsely chop the nuts then transfer them to a large bowl.

Add the gluten free Chocolate Rice Krispies, puffed millet, pumpkin seeds, rice bran & flaxseed and toss well.

In a small saucepan, combine the date syrup, and salt and bring to a boil over medium heat.

Cook, stirring from time to time, then remove from the heat after a few minutes and stir in the vanilla.

Pour the syrup onto the rice, millet mixture and toss to coast thoroughly, you may need to add more date syrup so the mixture sticks together well.

Transfer the mixture to the prepared baking tray and pack with a greased spatula.

Let cool for a quarter of a hour before breaking into shards.

Brisures de chocolat à base de noix

  • 35g de noix de pécan
  • 30g de noisettes
  • 15g d’amandes
  • 36g de Choco pops sans gluten
  • 3 c à s de millet soufflé sans gluten
  • 3 c à s de pépins de citrouille
  • 2 c à s de son de riz
  • 2 c à s de graines de lin
  • 80 ml de sirop/miel de dattes
  • 1/2 c à c d’extrait de vanille
  • 1/4 c à c de sel

Préchauffez le four à 180°C/350°F.

Beurrez légèrement une plaque à four avec du l’huile végétale et garnissez-le du papier sulfurisé.

Etalez les noix sur la plaque et faites-les griller légèrement.

Une fois refroidi, coupez les noix en carrés et mettez-le dans un grand bol.

Ajoute les choco-pops sans gluten, le son de riz, les graines de lin, le millet soufflé, les pépins de citrouille et mélangez bien.

Dans une petite casserole,le sirop de dattes, et le sel et faites chauffez à feu moyen.

Remuez-le du temps en temps puis après quelques minutes, enlevez du feu et ajoutez l’extrait de vanille.

Versez le sirop au mélange riz-millet et enrobez le tout du sirop. (Il se peut que vous auriez besoin d’ajouter plus de sirop pour que le mélange soit bien enrobé).

Etalez le mélange sur une plaque recouverte du papier sulfurisé.

Laissez refroidir 45 minutes avant de découper en brisures.

8 thoughts on “Extremely Nutty Chocolate Shards/Brisures de chocolat à base de noix

  1. Snow is very cool – we are bracing ourselves for the second wave. These little treats look like just the ticket to enjoy all nice and warm inside looking at the snow outside ;0)

  2. Yummy! These look amazing. I bed they’d be great with puffed amaranth seeds, too.

    I have a technical question that is totally unrelated to this post…is treacle like molasses? I keep seeing it, but haven’t tried it yet, though I did break into the demerara sugar.

    The bad news is that the oven in our new flat grills perfectly, but just blows cold air instead of baking. We’re waiting for the landlord to come by and check out the stuff that’s not working quite right, but until then…no baking.

    Enjoy the snow! We must have taken a ton of photos the last two days.

  3. These look great. Here, in the US, you can buy gluten free cocoa krispies. I can’t remember who makes them, but I know I’ve seen them. These would be lovely to make as a quick snack, and great for traveling. Thank you for the post!

  4. @Chele – apparently it’s going to last for another three weeks! Don’t think I’ve ever seen it snow this much in London!

    @theintolerantchef – I thought it was summer round your parts? But you’re right, it is a bit annoying when you only get snow drizzle, I’m more of an all or nothing type of girl! ;)

    Hey Holly, molasses and treacle are essentially the same. I tend to use blackstrap molasses when I’m using molasses in a recipe, so I generally find treacle to be sweeter than molasses. As far as I’m aware treacle is made up of 50% molasses so it’s a lighter sweeter version of molasses, with a similar consistency and distinctive flavour. You can sub it depending on the recipe, I’d buy it and give it a go, but you can also buy blackstrap molasses here in a health food shop like Holland and Barratt. P.S. Puffed amaranth seeds sound good!

    @Gluten Free Diva- I was thinking of making an easy gluten free snack actually when I started this recipe, they do make good travel companions and are also great when eaten straight from the fridge/tin. A bit like popcorn, it’s scary how quickly they disappear! Love the name btw!

Leave a Reply

