Baked Sweet Potato and Banana Fritters

I dreamt this up after my first ever trip to Leon which prompted me to bake their famous falafel recipe and that’s when the light bulb came. What if I made them for dessert? I mean they are sweet potatoes, plus I didn’t completely make them up.  I know sweet potato doughnuts exist in Madagascar as well as some eastern and South African countries. So a little research and a very ripe banana later, out of the oven they came and straight in for the UM test.

*UM screws ups her nose….*

UM: You put banana in sweet potato?

Me: er….yeah ? (Am I the only one who thought that sounded like an obvious combination?)

UM: It tastes…er….sweet

Me: Too sweet? I suggest

UM: Yeah, it must be the banana….and you should have added flour

Me: I did

UM: Oh, you can’t tell

And that was the end of that.

Well as I promised to document my ‘failures’ as well as my successes, here goes:

Baked Sweet Potato and Banana Fritters

I didn’t think it was too sweet, but I agree the sweet potato/banana balance wasn’t quite right, but they did have a nice banana fritter feel to them but as UM suggested I’d add more flour next time and maybe tougher flour like brown rice.  I’ll do this combo again at some point and report back…for the adventurous among you here’s the recipe:

Baked Sweet Potato and Banana Fritters

Makes about 12 fritters

100g sweet rice flour

4 large sweet potatoes

1 tsp sea salt

Pinch nutmeg  (freshly grated)

Pinch cinnamon

3 tbsps mild agave nectar

1 tbsp orange juice

1½ cups sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 220 C then baked sweet potatoes for about an hour. Turn off the oven and leave the sweet potatoes to cool.

Remove the skins and put the flesh of the sweet potatoes into a bowl. Add the cinnamon, nutmeg, agave nectar, orange juice, salt, sweet rice flour and banana to the bowl and mash until smooth. Form mixture into a large round ball then put in the fridge for an hour or the freezer for half an hour.

Divide mixture into small balls, (if you wet your hands first it makes it easier, mixture should be sticky, but you can add a tablespoon or so of sweet rice flour if necessary).

Place balls on a lightly oiled tray, then sprinkle with sesame seeds (I flattened them to make more of a disc shape but balls are fine too). Bake for 15 to 20 mins.


Source: adapted from wholefoods.com

2 thoughts on “Baked Sweet Potato and Banana Fritters

  1. I don’t think I’d find it too sweet. Course, I should taste it just to be sure. Got any leftovers?😉

    I once made a banana and sweet potato bake for Thanksgiving. Half the people loved it, half didn’t. So I guess it’s a polarizing combo.

    • Hey Susan. I guess that’s the advantage of being a misunderstood foodie. You’re the only one to lick the proverbial mixing bowl! I’ll send you some next time if you promise me a taste of that bake😉

Leave a Reply

