Savoury Butternut Squash Muffins

Ever since I stumbled across le pain quotidien’s parmesan and basil muffins. I’ve been searching high and low for a good savoury muffin recipe that I could actually eat! My search didn’t amount to much, so I decided to put it on the back burner. It wasn’t until my cyber jog over to Susan from Food Blogga’s page that I found what I’d been looking for and even better I had all the ingredients sitting in my kitchen just waiting to be turned into something delicious! There was only one thing missing…..it wasn’t gluten-free, so Susan graciously allowed me to ‘gluten-free’ her recipe and this is what I came up with:

I had a little trouble coming up with a gluten-free, whole-wheat flour combo that worked,  simply because so many gluten free flours are made from wholegrains, so finding that perfect combination can be a little tough……Plus I tend to get a bit carried away and end up throwing them all in, so as not to miss out on any wholegrain goodness.  But this time, I reigned myself in, got that magic number down to three and it worked really well.

I have to say even even though I’d found that miracle recipe, I still had to get my head round savoury muffins and the addition of honey in the original recipe worried me a bit, because I’m not really a sweet and sour gal, but to my wonderful surprise the balance was perfect, and I ended up with tasty but more importantly moist, savoury butternut squash muffins. They’re great for breakfast or a mid morning snack and the herb butter works wonderfully with all the other ingredients.


Savoury Butternut Squash Muffins (lactose and gluten free)

Makes 12 muffins

I’m sure you won’t all need this tip but doing all the prep work e.g.  caramelising the onions, shredding the apple etc… in advance makes things a lot smoother. You can even roast the butternut squash the day before so all you have to do is drop it in the muffin when you’re ready to bake. (The prep work is in italics in the recipe below). Don’t think of the herb butter as an accompaniment. Think of it as a necessity! It’s so easy to make and just awakens all the flavours in the muffins.

2/3 cup sorghum flour
2/3 cup tapioca flour
2/3 cup brown rice flour

1 tsp baking soda
¾  tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

2 eggs

A pinch of sugar
¼ cup mild (light) agave nectar

1 cup sweetened soya milk
1/3 cup rice bran oil
1 small onion, diced
1 medium sweet apple, peeled and finely grated
1 tbsp minced fresh herbs, such as rosemary and/or sage (I used both)
¾ cup grated cheddar cheese
½ cup coarsely chopped walnuts
1 cup of roasted, mashed butternut squash

Save a sprig of rosemary to sprinkle on the muffins as decoration.

Herb Butter (Can also be made in advance then left in fridge till ready)

Mince the herbs (I did that in a dry blender). Then put about 8 scant tablespoons of butter into a bowl.  Add the herbs to the bowl then whisk until you get a light smooth consistency.

Muffins:

Prepare and set aside the italicised ingredients.  Preheat your oven to 190 °C/375 °F and coat your muffin pan with baking spray.

Place the flours, xanthan gum, baking soda, salt and black pepper in a large bowl then mix together.

Whisk together the soya milk, agave nectar, eggs and oil in a separate bowl.

Put 2 teaspoons of oil into a frying pan, add the pinch of sugar, then sauté the onions under a moderate heat until slightly browned and translucent. (Be careful they don’t stick).

Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients then add the liquid ingredients mix together but be careful not to mix too much or the batter will get tough. Fold the apples, squash, herbs, cheddar and walnuts into the mixture.

Spoon the mix into your prepared muffin pan, or if you’re like me, prepare the muffin pan now, then quickly spoon it all in😉

Sprinkle the rosemary on the muffins then bake for about 20 minutes checking at regular intervals until the muffins are baked inside and brown on the surface.

Source: Adapted from a recipe from foodblogga.blogspot.com

4 thoughts on “Savoury Butternut Squash Muffins

  1. Pingback: Gluten free Madeira Cake/Gâteau Madeira sans gluten « The Curious Baker

Leave a Reply

