Double Hazelnut and Ginger Cookies/Cookies aux deux gingembres et aux noisettes

So I think I owe an apology to all cookie aficionados as I have now become a lover of the common cookie! I’m thinking the reason I wasn’t into them was because I’d never actually tried homemade cookies before and well I made some over the Christmas holidays and they were delicious!

I know what you’re thinking…first the snow and now the cookies! What can I say, I get it now, I’ve seen the light. Not quite in time for Christmas but better late then never right?  I guess it all started with a crumble I made, where instead of the usual sugar, flour and cornstarch mix, I added some hazelnut meal and a dash of fresh ginger and it literally transformed the crumble, giving it this nutty spicy crunch that made me think ‘this’d make a really good cookie!’

Plus  I’m really into molasses at the moment.  I’ve never baked with molasses before so I’m having lots of fun adding them to my cakes etc… I think the only thing I would have changed would be doubling the recipe for next time! The cookies had a nice soft crumbly texture and the pairing of the double ginger and hazelnut really brought the cookies to life….

Even The Cynic liked them!

The Cynic : ‘Mmmm! These are A Grade cookies! Top grade! They’re delicious!’

Me(shocked) : ‘Er…you do know these are gluten free don’t you?’

The Cynic : ‘Yeah! They’re good!’

Success! Haha! These are best eaten with cool glass of milk…

I might make an early New Year’s resolution to never say never!

Adapted from this recipe at 101 cookbooks

Double Hazelnut and Ginger Cookies

Made exactly 22 cookies for me!🙂

¼ cup/45g Demerara sugar

¼ cup/35g cocoa nibs

1/3 cup/30g hazelnut meal

¼ cup/40g millet flour

¼ cup/55g buckwheat flour

OR (125g whole wheat pastry flour for the non gluten free)

½ tsp Baking soda

2 ¼ tsps ground ginger

¼ tsp sea salt

¼ cup/60g unsalted butter

1 tbsp/30ml molasses

½ cup/50g roasted chopped hazelnuts

1 ¼ tsp fresh ginger

1 large egg beaten (you’ll only need half unless you double the recipe)

Preheat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF.

Line a baking sheet with baking paper.

Sift the flour, baking soda, ground ginger and salt into a mixing bowl.

Gently heat the butter until just melted, remove from heat then add the fresh ginger, sugar and molasses stirring until combined.

When the saucepan is cool enough to touch, add the egg, then pour this into the bowl of dry ingredients and stir until combined.

Fold the cocoa nibs into the mixture.

Scoop the dough into level tablespoons then roll into a ball.

Coat the balls by rolling them into the chopped, roasted hazelnuts.

Place on baking sheet, a few inches apart.

Flatten slightly then bake for 7-10 minutes.

This’ll be my last post of the year so Happy New Year in advance. See you in 2010!


VF

Cookies aux deux gingembres et aux noisettes

Pour 20 cookies : J’en ai fait 22 !:)

45g de sucre roux cristallisé

35g d’éclats de fèves de cacao

30g de poudre de noisettes

40g de farine de millet

55g de farine de sarrasin

OU (125g de farine complète utilisée pour la pâtisserie pour les non intolérants)

½ c à  c de poudre à lever

2 ¼ c à c de gingembre en poudre

¼ c à c de sel de marin

60g de beurre doux

1 ¼  c à c de gingembre frais

30ml de mélasse

50g de noisettes grillées et finement hachées

1 œuf battu (vous en aurez besoin de la moitié, sauf si vous doublez la recette)

Préchauffez le four à 180ºC

Couvrez une plaque de cuisson avec du papier sulfurisé.

Tamisez les farines, la poudre à lever, le gingembre en poudre et le sel dans une jatte.

Faites chauffer le beurre  doucement, dans une casserole.

Retirez du feu et ajoutez le gingembre frais, le sucre et la mélasse  et mélangez jusqu’à l’incorporation.

Quand la casserole est presque refroidie, versez le mélange dans la jatte avec les ingrédients secs en mélangeant.

Incorporez les éclats de fèves de cacao.

Faire des boules d’environ 2 cm (1 pouce) de diamètre à aide d’une cuillère à coupe rase.

Enrobez les boules de noisettes hachées.

Écrasez les boules légèrement pour formez des cookies.

Placez  les cookies sur la plaque de cuisson. Espacez-les de quelques cm.

Enfournez-les pour 7 à 10 minutes

Adapteé de cette recette à 101 cookbooks

Ceci sera mon dernier post de l’année, donc je vous souhaite à toutes et à tous de très belles fêtes. A 2010!

12 thoughts on “Double Hazelnut and Ginger Cookies/Cookies aux deux gingembres et aux noisettes

  1. These sound absolutely delicious!! I’ve had frequent requests for cookies here at home, and I’m not 100% sure about repeating the last recipe I made, so I’m definitely going to give these a try. Thanks!

  2. Oh, and I forgot to mention…you know that blackstrap molasses is an excellent source of calcium, magnesium, potassium, and iron, don’t you? I was so tempted to bring some back from the US because I can’t find any here, but I was close to being overweight on my luggage.

  3. Excellent. Hope you both like them as much as we did. I didn’t know that about molasses Zahirah, just gives me another excuse to bake! Let me know how the cookies turn out Deborah!😀

  4. They look so good with that glass of milk! You have a lot of catching up cookie wise in 2010, but that’s all good, I guess🙂

  5. Okay, so I had a cookie request yesterday, and we’re running out of muffins, so I think this is my next recipe to bake! I’ve already printed it out. Can’t WAIT!! Thanks!

  6. Pingback: Spiced Chocolate Chai Tea Cakes/Gâteau épicé au chocolat et au thé chai « The Curious Baker

  7. Pingback: Gluten Free Shortbread Digestives/Biscuits Sablés sans gluten « The Curious Baker

Leave a Reply

