Gluten Free Milk Bread

Happy New Year everyone! Before you say it I realise I’m kinda late to write a blog post ushering in the New Year but I’ve been having milk issues! I mean, what do you do when you have waaay too much milk in the fridge and not enough time to do something with it? This is the question I’ve been pondering for quite a while now and with time running out running out and a belly full of milkshake and porridge.  I realised I had to do something quick.

Now this would be my umpteenth try at a gluten free bread recipe and between the kneading, proofing, yeast-rising and hair pulling. I seem to have successfully baked more bricks than I have loaves. This recipe however is my favourite kind of bread recipe, minimal effort, maximum taste and no hair pulling involved, I swear! I simply adapted one of Lucinda Bruce-Gardyne’s recipes and combined it with a victorian milk bread recipe and voilà!

For those of you who haven’t heard of Lucinda, she is the original gluten free goddess…a master of the marvellous… and most importantly the savvy saviour of the gluten free sandwich a.k.a the genuis behind Genuis...Bread that is.  The only gluten free bread I’ve ever tasted that’s soft to touch, tastes delicious and doesn’t have to be microwaved to be edible. I know it’s hard to believe!  Once I tasted a loaf or five of her bread and had shouted joy the gluten free world from the rooftops. I went out, bought her book and flicked straight to the bread section (after a quick glance at the desserts of course😉 ) But I quickly conceded that repositioning the bookmark was a safer bet than having another go at baking bread as I was so sure my bread would disapppoint…but guess what? It didn’t!…

I did a little jig for joy when these came out of the oven and an even bigger jig when I tasted it.  In fact the smell alone would make anyone want to dance around the kitchen! So all of you that are currently bunking off work because of the snow, do something deliciously selfish and bake yourself  some gluten free milk bread…. Right! I’m off to work to make a sandwich😉

I dedicate this recipe to my milkman! Thanks mate😉

Gluten Free Milk Bread

The milk taste is quite subtle but if you haven’t recently had a (mis)understanding with your milkman and are looking for more of a nondescript taste, replace the milk with water.

Makes  one 1lb loaf

¼ cup minus 2 ½ tsps/28g white rice flour

¼ cup minus 1 ½ tsps/28g tapioca flour

¼ cup/28g ground almonds/almond meal

¼ cup plus 2tbsps/55g potato flour

¼ cup plus 2tbps/55g cornflour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp caster sugar

2 tsps yeast

1 tbsp unsalted butter

75ml water

75ml milk

For the decoration

Millet/rice flakes

Preheat the oven to 200°C/400°F then grease and flour a 1lb loaf tin.

In a mixing bowl sieve the flours, xanthan gum, salt and sugar.  Add the yeast and ground almonds then whisk together.

Rub the butter into the flour with your fingertips until it resembles breadcrumbs.

Heat 75ml of water and 75ml of milk in a saucepan till it becomes lukewarm but not too hot to touch.

Add the heated milk and water to the dry ingredients then with a wooden spoon beat the mixture until it can fall slowly from the spoon.

Fill the loaf tin with the bread mixture then with the back of a wet tablespoon; smooth the surface of the mixture.

Decorate the surface with millet/rice flakes

Place in the oven for about 45 minutes or until the bread is golden brown all over. If the bread is crisp and golden brown, tap the underside of the bread with your knuckles, if you hear a hollow sound it means the bread is cooked.

Only eat the bread when it’s completely cool on the day of baking or the next day.

Adapted from the book How to cook for food allergies by Lucinda Bruce-Gardyne


VF

Pain au lait sans gluten

Le goût du lait est assez insignifiant mais si vous n’avez pas eu un malentendu avec votre laitier comme moi😉 et vous cherchez un pain au goût plutôt neutre, remplacez le lait avec de l’eau.

Pour un pain de (1lb)/23 x 10 cm (8” x 4”)

28g farine de riz

28g farine de tapioca

28g poudre d’amandes

55g farine de pommes de terre

55g farine de mais

1 c àc sel

1 c à c gomme de xanthane

1 cà c sucre

2 c à s levure de boulanger

1 c à s beurre doux

75ml eau

75ml lait

Pour Décorer

Flocons de millet/riz

Préchauffez le four  à 200°C puis beurrez et farinez un moule à pain de 23 x 10 cm (8” x 4”)

Dans un saladier, tamisez les farines, la gomme de xanthane, le sel et le sucre. Ajoutez la levure de boulanger et le poudre d’amandes et fouettez le tout.

Ajoutez le beurre aux ingrédients secs et travaillez du bout des doigts jusqu’à l’obtention d’une texture sableuse.

Dans une casserole,  faites chauffer l’eau et le lait 5  à 7 minutes à feu doux. (Il ne faut pas que l’eau soit chaude. Laissez refroidir si nécessaire.)

Versez l’eau et le lait tiède dans le mélange farine-beurre, puis à l’aide d’une cuillère en bois, mélangez, jusqu’à ce que la pâte se décolle doucement de la cuillère.

Placez la pâte dans le moule beurré.

Trempez  une cuillère à soupe  dans de l’eau froide, puis lissez la surface du pain avec le dos de la cuillère.

Parsemez le pain des flocons de millet ou riz.

Enfournez le pain pendant 45 minutes ou jusqu’à ce qu’il soit doré et croustillant.

Pour vérifier si le pain est cuit, retournez le  pain et tapez dessous avec l’ongle, si ça sonne creux,  le pain est prêt.

Laissez le pain refroidir sur une grille, il faut attendre qu’il refroidisse avant de le savourer.

Recette adaptée du livre ‘How to cook for food allergies’ de Lucinda Bruce-Gardyne

17 thoughts on “Gluten Free Milk Bread

  1. Looks absolutely delicious. Have you considered making yogurt? It’s easy, though you’ll have to keep it warm with the cold you’ve been having up there.

    • You know I think I must have made everything but yoghurt! But as you said the weather didn’t inspire me…I’ve never made it before though so I’ll have to try it next time…

  2. Pingback: Teff Waffles with caramelised bananas/Gaufres à la farine de Teff et bananes caramelisés « The Curious Baker

  3. Pingback: Move over genius, there’s a new bread in town.. « The Curious Baker

  4. Pingback: Blackstrap Molasses sweetened Chocolate Cake/ Gâteau au chocolat, à la mélasse « The Curious Baker

  5. Hi,
    I found out a week ago that I now have to follow a Gluten free diet and slowly coming to terms with the alternatives and changes. Beer for one but I think I’ve found the solution to that one, an Aussie brewer in Melbourne. Other alternative is to drink more local wine as well!

    So to bread.
    I have always loved eating bread and this is a bit more tricky. Last week I bought a pack of gluten free wraps that can be best decribed as being made from yellow plastic polystyrene packing case fillers.

    Laucke are an Australian flour mill company that make bread mixes including a Gluten free mix thst you just add water to. Not bad at all.

    Next I tried two loaves of Gluton free bread from my local baker. Very crumbly and only delivered on a Tuesday.

    So the Gluten free bread I have tried is obviously different to what I am used to. It tends to be very crumbly and dry?

    So can you tell me what sort of flour / recipes makes the best bread to what I am used to eating? mostly ate wholemeal bread before and definitely not the mass produced white / brown bread that comes from the Supermarket in a plastic bag.

    Having lived in the Australian Outback for a few years we were used to baking our own bread in a breadmaker, so am ready to experiment.

    I came across your website whilst search for Gluten free bread, great to find a recipe for milk loaf, I used to love Milk loaf as a kid in the UK, but hardly any bakers seem to make it anymore.

    Cheers Dean

    • Hi Dean

      Welcome to gluten free life! The gluten free milk bread recipe above is actually quite a good base recipe for bread if you substitute the 250ml of milk and water for 175 ml of water. As for the best flour for gluten free bread. When I think of bread, the first types of flour that come to mind would be buckwheat, brown rice, potato or tapioca and sorghum if you can find some. A teaspoon or two of Xanthan gum is also good to add for a nice chewiness and at the moment psyllium husk is appearing quite a lot in gluten free bread recipes but I haven’t managed to get hold of any to experiment. White bread recipes are generally easier to duplicate than brown so you could start with that first, using the milk bread recipe then switch to wholegrains. Gluten free bread is pretty notorious for being bad. It’s heavy, brick like and tastes dry and crumbly. When adapting gluten free recipes you need to add more liquid to compensate for the loss in moisture. For wholemeal bread try replacing the caster sugar in the milk bread recipe for dark brown sugar, then add a teaspoon of rice bran to the recipe, should make for a more wholemeal like texture. Then play around with different types of flour to see what you like, taste and texture wise. There’s a good round up of gluten free flour and flour substitution on this website: Then you could always join my facebook page and ask the other curious bakerites for some ideas for general gluten free advice. Let me know how it turned out and watch this space for a breakfast round up, there’ll be two bread recipes to follow! Good Luck! Lola (The Curious Baker)

      • Thankyou for the very informative reply and a great Blog. I’m going shopping for ingregients this morning and will give your recipe a try.
        I’ve tried some Gluten free orange muffins at a cafe and market stall they were delicious. The good thing about gluten free bread being crumbly is that pigeons love me. Cheers

      • lol! You’re welcome. I remember how lost I felt when I was told to stop eating gluten so I’m happy to help. Hope you like the bread, let me know how it turns out… I’m sure the pigeons won’t like me for this suggestion but a good thing to do with bad gluten free bread is dump it in a food processor and make it into breadcrumbs and freeze it for coatings or treacle tarts etc..

  6. Turned out great, tastes nice and I need to find a suitable bread tin.
    I had some of the ingredients already in the cupboard and purchased rest from the local big chain supermarket and others from health food shop. Realised later that our local Asian Supermarket where we buy our Thai ingredients from also stocks a lot of the flour types and about the third of the price that the health food shop was charging too. Thanks for the blog.

    • Brilliant! So happy it worked out for you :)… Gfree life ain’t that bad once you get the hang of it!…Yeah asian shops sell gfree flour at great prices especially if you’re baking a lot. Did you do the white bread or wholemeal recipe?

  7. Pingback: Battle of the Bread – Gluten Free Bread Review | The Curious Baker

Leave a Reply

