Gluten Free Ricotta Hotcakes/Crêpes americaines au fromage ricotta

If you’ve been looking for the perfect pancake recipe. Your search stops here.

Bill Granger, the brainchild behind this recipe, has officially cracked it, by creating gourmet pancakes that are almost ethereal in nature.

These pancakes are so buoyant and fluffy, if they stood next to a cloud, it’d cower in shame. In fact, if clouds had a taste, this would be it.

The first time I came across these hotcakes.  I remember scanning the recipe and thinking it looked a bit too much hard work (yes, you’ve guessed it, stiff peaks were involved). Surely a pancake can’t be worth all that hassle I thought, but I couldn’t have been more wrong.

All that was left to make them truly perfect was to gluten free them, so I mixed up a homemade pancake batter and the rest is history.

I was particularly intrigued by the honeycomb butter, which gave the hotcakes a mild sweetness, a little extra moisture and a butter kissed feel.

Why they’re called hotcakes, I don’t know.  But from what I can gather,  hotcakes just seem to be a sexy name for pancakes! I mean they have all usual pancake ingredients, but in this case, the eggs are separated, then the whites are folded into  a soft ricotta batter, then topped with crushed honeycomb butter.

Hotcakes ? Pancakes? Who knows, the only thing I do know is that they are damn good!

Gluten Free Ricotta Hotcakes

Share
I didn’t add any sugar to this as I felt the honeycomb butter with a touch of maple syrup was enough. The Cynic, who has a much sweeter tooth than me, disagreed, so feel free to add your preferred sweetener to the batter. You can store the batter in the fridge, covered with clingfilm for 24 hours before and leftover honeycomb butter can be kept in the freezer and used when needed.

  • 1/2 cup/140g brown rice flour
  • 3 tablespoons potato starch
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 225g ricotta
  • 170ml milk
  • 4 eggs, separated

For the honeycomb butter

  • 250g salted butter
  • 100g sugar honeycomb, crushed with a rolling pin*

* I used two crunchie bars and only made 1/4 of the original recipe and found it was enough

Start with the honeycomb butter. Break down the butter and crunchie bars with a fork until the mixture looks smooth and blended.

Shape into a log, wrap in clingfilm and leave in the fridge for two hours.

Put ricotta, milk and egg yolks into a bowl and stir well.Sift the brown rice flour,cornstarch, xanthan gum, potato starch, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Add to the ricotta, milk and egg yolks and stir until combined.

In another bowl, beat egg whites until they form stiff peaks, then with a metal spoon, fold the egg whites into the hotcake batter in two batches.

Grease a non-stick frying pan with a little honeycomb butter and drop 3 tablespoons of the batter onto the frying pan.

Cook over a medium heat for two minutes or until the undersides are set and golden. Turn over and cook the other side similarly.

Serve with a banana sliced lengthways and stacked in between three hotcakes, sprinkled with icing sugar.

VF

Crêpes americaines au fromage ricotta

Share

J’avais pas ajouté du sucre dans la pâte car je trouvais qu’elle était assez sucrée avec le beurre au gâteau de miel et une goutte de miel d’érable, mais The Cynic qui aime les sucreries beaucoup plus que moi, n’a pas été d’accord, donc n’hésitez pas à ajouter votre sucre préferé à la pâte. La pâte se conserve bien au frigo pendant 24h couverte avec du film étirable et la beurre au gâteau de miel se conserve bien au congélateur et vous pouvez en prendre quand vous avez besoin.

  • 140g de farine de riz complète
  • 3 c à s de fécule de pomme de terre
  • 2 c à s de maïzena
  • 1/4 c à c de  gomme xanthane
  • 1/16 c à c de sel
  • 1 c à c de poudre à lever
  • 225 g de fromage de ricotta
  • 170 ml de lait
  • 4 oeufs, les blancs séparés des jaunes

Pour le beurre au gâteau de miel

  • 250g de beurre
  • 100g de gâteau de miel, écrasé avec un rouleau à pâtisserie*

* j’avais utilisé des barres de chocolat crunchie

Commencez d’abord avec le beurre au gâteau de miel.

À l’aide d’une fourchette, ecrasez les barres de crunchie avec le beurre, jusqu’à ce que le beurre et les barres deviennent lisses et bien mélangés.

Formez un boudin et enveloppez du film étirable et placez au frigo.

Dans un saladier, mélangez  bien le fromage du ricotta, le lait et les jaunes d’oeufs.

Tamisez les farines, le poudre à lever, la gomme xanthane et ajoutez au saladier avec le mélange ricotta.

Mélangez bien.

Dans un autre bol, Battez les blancs en neige ferme. Incorporez- les à la pâte en deux lots, à l’aide d’une cuillère en métal.

Beurrez une poêle avec un tout petit peu du beurre au gâteau de miel.

Versez trois cuillères à soupe dans la poêle et cuisinez jusqu’à ce que le dessous deviennent dorés.

Faites la même chose de l’autre côté.

Servez ces crêpes avec une banane coupée en deux longitudinalement, empilez entre trois crêpes et saupoudrez de sucre en poudre.

12 thoughts on “Gluten Free Ricotta Hotcakes/Crêpes americaines au fromage ricotta

  1. I haven’t had pancakes in FOREVER. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!! (I also liked learning the French way to say pancakes…I guess that should have been easy to guess, though.)

    I think maybe in some parts of the US they call them hotcakes. I remember that in Mexico they called them hotcakes and not pancakes.

  2. Oh I’m in love with you! Thanks for doing the work of making them gluten free! Sometimes I just wanna follow a recipe instead of hurting my brain, wondering how to convert them! You’re the best!!!

  3. @ vicky You’re more than welcome my love, I’ve had more my fair share of headscratching so I know how nice it is to find a gluten free recipe ready to go!

    @Rosa, be tempted rosa, you won’t regret it!;)

    @zahirah, no probs, enjoy! Didn’t occur to me that english speakers might read the french part as well. I don’t know about the hotcakes, might be an american thing? I think the origins of the ‘hotcake’ will remain one of life’s unsolved mysteries!

  4. Pingback: Buckwheat Apple Pancakes/Crêpes americaines de sarrasin aux pommes « The Curious Baker

  5. I’m in the southern US, and I call them pancakes… and, I have NO idea what sugar honeycomb is, or Crunchies, for that matter! I’m going to go for it, sans honeycomb… wish me luck, y’all! Do you know of any substitutes I could use for future reference? xoxo

  6. Hi,
    I’ve just been enjoying this recipe and thought you might like to correct a couple of errors:
    Ingredients mention xanthan gum, but are omitted in the method (of course it’s reasonable self evident that you add them to the flour.
    The method mentions salt but the ingredients don’t include salt nor how much (I added a pinch).

    Just for reference, I’ve made this recipe with 2 tablespoons of sugar added to the batter as I’m not partial to buttery toppings (as per recipe) and it turns out well.
    Thanks for sharing.

  7. Pingback: Gluten Free Breakfast Special | The Curious Baker

Leave a Reply

