Olive Oil Surprise Brownies/Brownies Surprise à l’huile d’olive

After my little coffee shop rant you may think I’m anti-brownies but don’t get me wrong.  I like brownies, but I like them even better when they’re not so dry that they crumble in my hand or taste like I’m eating a thick bar of sugar wrapped in a thin layer of chocolate!

I don’t really go to coffee shops anymore for the above reasons, but the last time I was in Starbucks, I stole a few armchairs, hired my own baristas and baked my own gfree slices! So gluten free ladies and gents, welcome to …er…Curibucks…no…hmm…Curibakes!😉

and for my first trick I present to you Olive Oil Surprise Brownies! As I’d hoped, the addition of olive oil made these brownies anything but dry! The idea was to make them dairy as well as gluten free which was were the olive oil came in.  I found that it really highlighted the chocolate flavour, producing a dense, sweet, fudgy brownie.

but wait that’s not the surprise. The real surprise is the chocolate hidden inside each brownie, creating a unique texture and a different flavour in each one that you try.  I have to say even I was surprised at how addictive they were, I’m not usually a fan of milk chocolate but I found myself sneaking downstairs in the middle of the night,  to take a huge chunky bite out of a brownie to see what chocolately surprise I’d find next!

I’d originally pegged this recipe for Mother’s Day, as a more innnovative way to give your mum a box of chocolates, but now that I think of it, they’d be great for a kid’s party, a quick snack or even a coffee shop treat! (you could sneak them in your pockets😉 ), however you decide to eat them you’ll have a few nice surprises in each bite.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Surprise Olive Oil Brownies
Makes 8, depending on how you score them
Share

When choosing your chocolates, avoid toffees as they’re quite hard to cut once they’ve been baked. I’d recommend a crunchy chocolate instead. Also if you’re making these gluten free, choose your chocolates carefully and read the ingredients well to make sure you’re choosing a gluten free brand.

  • ½ cup/100 ml extra virgin olive oil
  • 50g/1.76 oz chocolate (70%)
  • 1 cup (packed)/160g dark muscovado sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup/40g quinoa flour
  • ¼ cup/40g teff flour
  • a smidgen of salt
  • 80g/about 13 individual chocolates of your choice (I used Quality Street milk chocolates or dairy free chocs if you’re going dairy and gluten free)

Unwrap the chocolates and set aside.

Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F

Grease a baking tin and line with baking paper.

Place a large glass bowl to fit snugly inside a saucepan of barely simmering water.  Melt the olive oil and the chocolate in the bowl, remove from heat, then stir in the sugar and whisk well.

Beat the eggs and vanilla extract in another bowl, and then add to the melted chocolate, sugar and olive oil.

Pour half of the mixture in the baking tin, then lay the chocolates on top so that there’s one chocolate for every brownie. Pour in the rest of the mixture, covering all the chocolates.

Bake for about 25-30 minutes.

Leave to cool before serving.

Adapted from Green and Black’s Chocolate Recipes: Unwrapped

VF

Brownies surprise à l’huile d’olive
Pour 8 carrés,  (ça dépend comment vous les coupez)
Share

Attention, quand vous choisissez  vos chocolats, évitez d’utiliser les caramels car ils se durcissent dans le four, ce qui rend les brownies difficile à couper. Je vous conseille plutôt d’utiliser les chocolats croquants. Comme toujours, n’oubliez pas de bien lire les ingrédients des chocolats avant d’en mettre dans la pâte pour s’assurez qu’il soients sans gluten.

  • 100ml d’huile d’olive extra vierge
  • 50g de chocolat noir (70%)
  • 160g de sucre de canne roux ( muscovado)
  • 2 œufs
  • ½ c à c d’extrait de vanille
  • 40g de farine de quinoa
  • 40g de farine de teff
  • 1/32  c à c de sel
  • 80g de chocolats individuels (J’avais utilisé Quality Street chocolat au lait)

Déballez les chocolats et laissez de côté

Préchauffer le four à 180°C

Beurrez un moule à gâteau et garnissez-le de papier cuisson.

Faites fondre le 50g de chocolat avec l’huile d’olive au bain marie dans une petite casserole sur un feu très doux.  Laissez le fondre doucement, éteindre le feu, ajoutez le sucre et fouettez bien.

Battre les œufs avec l’extrait de vanille puis ajoutez au chocolat, sucre et à l’huile d’olive.

Versez la moitié du mélange dans le moule et placez les 80g de chocolats individuels dans la pâte, en s’assurant de laisser un chocolat pour chaque brownie.

Nappez les chocolats avec le reste de la pâte

Enfournez pendant 20 à 25 minutes.

Une recette adaptée du livre,  Green and Black’s Chocolate Recipes:Unwrapped

5 thoughts on “Olive Oil Surprise Brownies/Brownies Surprise à l’huile d’olive

  1. These sound amazing! Thanks for this recipe. I’ll see how I can adapt it.

    I must admit that I finally made the connection between azúcar mascabado and muscovado sugar. I’ve been wondering what muscovado sugar is, and somehow it just clicked this afternoon.

    • I recently wrote a recipe in spanish with azúcar mascabado, and my friend had no idea what it was either, they do sound very similar, you shoulda just asked me :p I almost subbed the sugar for honey but then thought olive oil and honey and gooey toffee chocolates maybe doesn’t sound like a good idea, so I chickened out and chose the easy option!

    • I’ve always been a fan of olive oil in baked goods, but if you’re a passionate devotee fan of all things olive oil, well… the recipe’s waiting for ya so devour to your heart’s content!😉

  2. Pingback: Teff Waffles with caramelised bananas/Gaufres à la farine de Teff et bananes caramelisés « The Curious Baker

Leave a Reply

