Chocarco Cake/Gâteau Chocarco

It took me a while to come up with a suitable acronym for this cake, my favourite was Cardoffee but then the chocolate isn’t in there and I thought you might take one look at the title and think I’d put card in a cake! Knowing me it’s not that far-fetched, but rest assured there’s no card in here, but what I like to call the magic three, Cardamom, Hot chocolate and freshly brewed coffee, three melodious ingredients that make sweet music when put together, if you haven’t tried this threesome,  your life may just be one cake away from true happiness.

but hélas, I can’t take all the credit for the enchanting trio, this mix was inspired by a trip to one of my favourite argentinian restaurants, Gauchos, right here in London town, I saw it on my menu and almost cried when I remembered I wouldn’t be able to taste it, the ever supportive glutenites decided to order it and managed a few words between moans of ecstasy, I think I even saw tears at one point!…

Licking the menu brought me no closer to tasting the cake, so to avoid spending the rest of my life wondering what if?… I decided to make something similar at home.

I’d originally decided on an Easter theme, my plan was to add a few finishing touches to make the cake, nice and  ….well…eastery! Something like this:

But then Easter came and went so I decided to change tack.

Apart from the guaranteed success with the magic three I also believe another secret ingredient added to the overall pleasure of this gâteau….

Spanish hot chocolate! You know the kind; thick, sweet, chocolate with a syrup like texture, perfect for dunking churros and blocking arteries! I can only drink a small amount at a time and with Spring, semi-officially here, my spanish hot choc has just been sitting in the cupboard lately pining for me to open it, so I did and it worked a treat. I added just enough chocolate to keep chocolate lovers happy but not too much to make non choc enthusiasts wary.

U.M. for example, doesn’t like chocolate and tends to avoid tasting cakes I’ve made with chocolate in them,  but this time was oh so different.’I can’t believe how good this is,’ she said ‘I don’t even like chocolate!’ By now she was on to her third slice and just about managed to squeeze in this sentence between bites.   As for The Cynic, he managed to swipe the last few slices and nodded approvingly ‘this is some real deal chocolate cake!’

But let’s not focus too much on the chocolate, the rest of the ingredients played an equal part in our palatable delight, it’s a real explosion of flavours, make sure your tongue can handle it! I actually found that every time I ate a slice,  a different ingredient emerged from the background.

…..I dedicate this cake to glutenites all over the world, I dare them to guess it’s gluten free!

Chocarco Cake

Share

To save time, you might wanna crush your pods and brew your coffee in advance, the hot chocolate is used in powder form so there’s no extra prep for that, if you don’t have the spanish hot chocolate any drinking chocolate’ll do, you could even try unsweetened cocoa for a darker, bittersweet taste.[tweetmeme source=”@TheCuriousBaker” http://www.URL.com%5D.

      • 1 1/2 cups/51 g ground almonds/almond flour
      • 1 1/2 cups/70g brown rice flour
      • 1 1/2 tablespoons of cornflour(UK)/cornstarch(US)
      • 1 1/2 cups/72g millet flour
      • 3/4 cup/207ml  honey (I used a mix of clover and a neutral tasting honey)
      • 3/4 cup/93g spanish hot chocolate (in powder form) or cocoa
      • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
      • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
      • 1/4 teaspoon salt
      • 1/4 cup/55g buttermilk
      • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
      • 3 eggs
      • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
      • 1 cup/200ml of hot brewed coffee
      • 1/2 teaspoon orange flower water
      • 10 cardamom pods(about 1/2 teaspoon, once ground

      Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°FSift the flour into a bowl,add the hot chocolate, baking powder, baking soda, salt and crushed cardamom to the mix.

      Add the wet ingredients and stir to combine, it’ll look quite gooey and liquidy at this point, but don’t worry, it’s supposed to, it’ll firm up nicely in the oven.

      Pour into a bundt pan/tin and bake for about 20 minutes or until a knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.

      Enjoy!

Gâteau Chocarco

Share

Pour vous faire gagner du temps, je vous conseille de préparer le café et écrasez les graines de cardamome en avance. Comme j’avais utilisé du chocolate chaud en poudre, il n’y a rien a préparer de ce côté là, mais si vous ne trouvez pas de chocolat chaud espagnol, vous pouvez utilisé n’importe quel chocolat chaud ou bien du cacao pour un goût doux-amer.

  • 51g d’amandes en poudre
  • 70g farine de riz complète
  • 1 1/2 c à s de maïzena
  • 72g farine de millet
  • 207 ml de miel (j’avais utilisé un mélange de miel de trèfle et d’un miel neutre)
  • 93g de chocolat chaud espagnol/onctueux(en poudre)
  • 1/2 c à c de poudre à lever
  • 1/2 c à c de bicarbonate de soude
  • 1/4  c à c de sel
  • 55g lait ribot
  • 1 c à c d’extrait de vanille
  • 3 oeufs
  • 3 c à s d’huile végétale
  • 200ml du café fraîchement passé
  • 1/2 c à c de fleur oranger
  • 10 graines de cardamome vertes ( 1/2 c à c,  à peu près quand la cardamome est moulue)

Préchauffez le four à 180°C/350°F

Tamisez les farines dans un bol, puis ajoutez le chocolat chaud, le poudre à lever, le bicarbonate de soude, le sel et la cardamome moulue.

Ajoutez les ingrédients liquides et mélangez jusqu’à l’incorporation. Á ce stade là, la pâte aura une apparence, gluante et visqueuse. Ne vous inquiètez pas, c’est normal, ça se rafferme bien au four.

Versez dans un moule à savarin et enfournez pendant 30 minutes ou jusqu’à ce la lame d’un couteau inseré au gâteau ressort propre.

Bon app!

9 thoughts on “Chocarco Cake/Gâteau Chocarco

  1. I think my life needs to one cake away from true happiness – I haven’t baked in ages so my promise that I’d have a recipe a week is out of the window! But I might steal this recipe for myself, it looks so scrummy and I would never have thought about putting cardamom in a cake!

    • @scarlettsculturegarden – Bake it, enjoy it and embrace true happiness😉 It’s just an oven away!

      @isabelle – l’association café et cardamome fonctionne à merveille, surtout avec le chocolat, ravie de savoir qu’elle te plaît 🙂

  2. This is perfect!! This will definitely be next on my list to bake. Thanks!

    I LOVE Spanish hot chocolate, though I’ll be using unsweetened cocoa for this because I’ve never seen the real Spanish stuff down here.

    And apparently I’m not only learning French from your blog, but English as well! I had no idea corn starch was the same as corn flour. The funny thing is that I have a box of corn starch (Maicena) and bags of corn flour (harina de maíz) and never had a clue they were the same.

    • @Holly – It’s weird that they don’t sell spanish hot chocolate in a spanish speaking country, took me aggges to find some here and it’s still not as good as the real thing….Let me know how the cake goes, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed!… One more thing….Be careful, cornflour and cornstarch AREN’T the same thing. I’ve been writing cornflour in my recipes and just realised that I might be confusing US readers.

      Maïzena (white colour, used for thickening sauces and gluten free baking) is called cornflour in the U.K and cornstarch in the U.S.

      Harina de maïs (strong yellow colour) is called cornflour in the U.S. and confusingly is also called cornflour in the U.K, so to sum up, in this recipe you’ll need maïzena/corn starch.

  3. The magic three indeed, what a cake!

    With cooler weather coming, I should hunt down some Spanish hot chocolate. Then not only will I be able to make this cake, I will be able to wash it down with more chocolate. Perfect.

  4. @conor – lol! I like where your head’s at! You may need chocolate rehab afterwards though!

    @lorraine – noooooo don’t do it! Doh too late! That’ll teach ya for next time😉

    @amy – Go for it Amy! You gotta eat it to believe it!

Leave a Reply

