Sugar-Crusted Popovers/Popovers croûtés de sucre

Ever since I posted a photo of the non gluten free treat I discovered in Prague, I haven’t been able to get them out of my head.  I didn’t manage to find out what they were while I was there, quite simply because the only czech I knew, was what I’d picked up from the Eurovision song contest, which as you can imagine, doesn’t extend as far as the phrase ‘What are these called?’ or even ‘How do you make them?’ Thanks to Mama google,(yes google is a woman!) I soon found out they were called trdlos, but then trdlo machines and czech translations got involved and it all started to sound a bit complicated, so I decided to try my own take on this czech delicacy…with a little help from David Lebovitz and some gluten free imagination, here’s what I came up with…

Popovers, are something like an american version of the Yorkshire pudding and from what I understand they’re supposed to be savoury,  but you may have noticed, I don’t have a whole lot of savoury recipes on here and I’ll find any excuse to take something savoury and turn it into something deliciously sweet🙂 , so inspired by my Prague pic  and a popover tin I picked up in Ikea of all places, I rustled up some cinnamon sugar crusted, airy gluten free popovers.

Reminiscent of a baked doughnut, they have all the characteristics of a popover.  A funny ice-cream cone shape, light pillowy dough and that crackly outer shell that combine together to provide the perfect balance of Mmm and yum! Try it if you don’t believe me, …try it if you do believe me and I guarantee popovers in your house will never be the same again!

Sugar-Crusted Popovers

These are best eaten hot on the day you bake them.  If you really want to save some, I’d say you could refrigerate a couple for three days max, anymore would be pushing it, and don’t throw the cinnamon sugar away once you’re done, it smells and tastes delicious and you can store it in an airtight container and sprinkle over…well…anything! Enjoy!

Makes 10
Share

  • 3 large eggs (at room temperature)
  • 1 cup/200ml milk
  • 1/3 cup/60g potato starch
  • 1/3 cup/40g tapioca flour
  • 1/3 cup/40g brown rice flour
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum

for the sugar topping

  • 2/3 cup/90g demerara sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup/60g melted butter

Preheat the oven to 230°C/450°F

Throw all the ingredients into a blender and blend until well combined with no lumps.

Put the empty pan in the oven for 5 mins, then take it out and fill the cups  with batter.

Bake for 15 minutes or until the popovers become a deep brown colour. If after 15 minutes your popovers aren’t ready,  reduce the oven temperature to 180 °C (350 °F) and bake for another 10 minutes.

Pierce each popover with a toothpick to let some of the air out, then leave to cool.

In the meantime…..mix the sugar and cinnamon in a deep roasting pan. Brush the popovers with the melted butter, then roll each one in the cinnamon sugar until completely covered.

EAT!

adapted from a David Lebovitz recipe via  a recipe by Carol Fenster.

Popovers croûtés de sucre

Je vous conseille de manger ces popovers le jour même, au pire, mettez-les au frigo pendant trois jours maximum, plus que ça et vous risquez de perdre ce goût magnifique ainsi que la texture moelleuse. N’oubliez pas de garder ce qui reste du sucre à la cannelle, il est tellement bon, et ça se conserve facilement dans un récipient hermétique et je suis sûre qu’il vous servira bien après avoir mangé ces popovers!

Pour 10 popovers
Share

  • 3 gros oeufs à température ambiente
  • 200ml de lait
  • 60g de fécule de pomme de terre
  • 40 g de farine de tapioca
  • 40g de farine de riz complète
  • 1 c à s de beurre mou
  • 1/2 c à c de sel
  • 1/4 c à c de gomme de xanthane
  • 90g de sucre
  • 1 c à c de cannelle en poudre
  • 60g de beurre fondu

pour la croûte

  • 90g de sucre
  • 1 c à c de cannelle en poudre
  • 60f de beurre fondu

Préchauffez le four à 230°C/450°F.

Mettez tous les ingrédients dans un mixer et mixez jusqu’à ce l’obtention d’une pâte lisse, sans grumeaux.

Enfournez le moule popover vide pour 5 minutes, puis sortez-le et remplissez-le de pâte.

Enfournez à nouveau pendant 15 minutes, ou jusqu’à ce que les popovers aient une belle couleur dorée, si nécessaire, réduissez la température du four à 180 °C (350 °F) pendant encore 10 minutes si nécessaire, (mes popovers étaient déja prêts au bout de 15 minutes).

Percez chaque popover avec un cure-dents pour faire sortir un peu d’air.

Entretemps…Mélangez le sucre et la cannelle dans plat à four, badigeonnez-les avec du beurre, puis retournez chaque popover dans le sucre à la cannelle.

Mangez!

adaptée d’une recette  de David Lebovitz via  une recette de Carol Fenster.

6 thoughts on “Sugar-Crusted Popovers/Popovers croûtés de sucre

  1. OMG, how did you get gluten free flour to rise like that? I’m amazed. Also, despite being American, I think I have absolutely no clue as to what popovers are, but they look spectacular. Yum. When I was a kid, my mother would sometimes put cinnamon sugar on buttered toast for me for breakfast. I highly recommend it!

  2. @holly – You know the secret is just letting the flour do what is does naturally..er…that and guarding the oven like a hawk to make sure no-one opens it for those first crucial 15 minutes!
    p.s don’t sweat it, I didn’t know what popovers were and only ate my first yorkshire pudding a few years ago!

    @deanna – yeah definitely a lot more sugar than I’d normally use, but hey it’s not like you eat sugar-crusted popovers everyday!

  3. SUPER DOOPER! I’m sooo excited to try these. Wow, I could think of a thousand ways I’d enjoy it. Chocolat Chaud anyone!?🙂

  4. Pingback: Rosewater-Glazed Orange and Date Scones/Scones aux dattes et orange,glacé à l’eau de rose « The Curious Baker

  5. Pingback: Gluten Free Breakfast Special | The Curious Baker

Leave a Reply

