Gluten Free Shortbread Digestives/Biscuits Sablés sans gluten

December is upon us and our thoughts are beginning to move towards Christmas presents and what lovely treats we can give away to the family.

For those of you that are furiously shaking your heads, at the thought of giving away gluten-free treats. Don’t worry, I have a couple of recipes coming up, which could also double up as gifts, because I have a feeling, even the most generous among  you, may have a few problems with giving away these biscuits.

I’ve been working on a gluten-free biscuit recipe for a while, when I say biscuits, I don’t mean these or  these.  I mean crunchy, crumbly dunkers the kind you can dip in your tea, but still melt in your mouth.

The digestive kind.

Some of you may be unfamiliar with this oaty British treat.  For my U.S. and Canadian readers, I’d liken them to the infamous graham cracker. Semi-sweet and great as a cheesecake base. So  now that we’ re all acquainted, I’ll give you a little background to this hybrid creation.

If I remember correctly, I was experimenting with a gluten-free shortbread recipe and when I had no luck, I moved on to digestives. A cup full of oats later and maybe a little more butter than necessary ( What can I say? I was in the shortbread groove)!

They came out of the oven, I tasted them and loved them, then passed them round for a gluten opinion. Pink lady’s reaction pretty much summed it up in

Hmmm….

Mmm…

They’re like shortbread and digestives at the same time!

Eureka! I thought and shortbread digestives were born. I was ecstatic when I first tasted them, just like the real thing at least from what I can remember just a bit more buttery.

Shortbread Digestives

For about 18 biscuits

  • 1/4 cup plus 2 1/2 tbsps/60g brown rice flour
  • 3 tbps/30g cornflour
  • 1 cup/100g gluten free oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 1/2 tbsps/50g demerara sugar
  • 100g/ 10tbsps unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsps milk

Preheat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF

Put the oats in a dry blender and pulse for 5 seconds or until the oats have a breadcrumb-like consistency.

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

Add the butter, squeezing it into the dry ingredients with your fingertips.

Add the milk and mix until you have a ball of dough.

Leave to rest for 15 minutes

Shape the dough into until it’s 1/8″ thick, then cut into rounds.

Place the rounds on a baking tray, lined with baking paper

Bake for about 15 minutes or until the biscuits are golden.

Try to give away at least one for tasting😉

Adapted from a recipe in http://onmange.canalblog.com/

Biscuits Sablés sans gluten

Pour environ 18 biscuits

  • 60g de farine de riz complète
  • 30g de farine de maïs
  • 100g de flocons d’avoine sans gluten
  • 1 c à café de poudre à lever
  • 50g de sucre roux
  • 100g de beurre mou
  • 2 c à s de lait

Préchauffez le four à 180ºC/350ºF

Mettez les flocons d’avoine dans le bol d’un robot mixeur quelques secondes pour broyer les flocons en chapelure.

Mélangez tous les ingrédients secs dans un saladier, ajoutez le beurre et l’incorporez  du bout des doigts pour obtenir une pâte sableuse

Ajoutez le lait et mélanger jusqu?à obtenir une boule de pâte, mettre 15 minutes au frais

Étalez la pâte sur une épaisseur de 3 mm (la partie la moins facile…)
Coupez des cercles dm 6 cm de diamètre environ, et déposez-les sur une plaque de cuisson.

Au four environ 15 minutes, ils doivent êtres dorés.

Laissez refroidir sur une grille.

Adaptée d’une recette d’on mange sans gluten


8 thoughts on “Gluten Free Shortbread Digestives/Biscuits Sablés sans gluten

  1. How lovely. I love to dunk biscuits in my Earl Gray, but had almost given up hope of finding one that works. Usually I leave the last half inch of my tea in the cup so I don’t get the soggy bits that have fallen off. Yuck!

  2. I’ve got some ‘gluten free’ buddies that were posing quite a problem for the baked gift this year … until now. Thank you for sharing ;0)

  3. I made these today and they are yummy (even my husband liked these)! I tweaked the recipe a bit for my allergies: I used dairy-free soy-free margarine in place of butter, honey in place of sugar, and I added a bit of salt and vanilla. The ground oats add a wonderful texture that I love. Thanks🙂

  4. Thanks you so so much! When we get out of our studio into our long-term flat I will make these right off! I had the most disappointing shortbread cookies the other day and was thinking of asking you if you had a good recipe for them! AND…thanks for the clarification on digestives…we’ve been seeing them in stores all over, but the name just isn’t appealing enough to try them…plus, they don’t have chocolate, so that’s an automatic no for A.

    Cookies sound like the perfect thing to eat today, now that it’s finally snowing!!

  5. @Yummy supper, love our blog, it’s always a pleasure to help a fellow gfreer! Let me know how they turn out🙂

    @Intolerant Chef, They passed my dunking test! But to be fair, even gluten digestives come out a little soggy after the tea dunk, we don’t want to put too much pressure on the biccies now do we?😉

    @Chele, glad to have been of service and keep an eye out there’s more where that came from!🙂

    @Sarah, the changes sounds great, I might try vanilla in my next batch! So happy you and your hubbie like em🙂

    @Holly Hey! you’re here! Bienvenida! Gluten free Shortbread, what a nightmare, I don’t know how many recipes I’ve tried, this one’s definitely a winner, BTW, you CAN get chocolate digestives and they’re good! Have a look next time you’re at the supermarket, not for yourself of course! Email me so we can meet up, maybe once the snow’s has settled. I don’t get on well with cold weather! besos

  6. Pingback: Hazelnut Cappuccino Pinwheel Cookies – Grain and Dairy-Free | Apron Strings

  7. Pingback: The Digestive Biscuit Challenge | 7 years to diagnosis

Leave a Reply

