Chestnut Pound Cake/Quatre-quarts à la farine de chataîgne

We’ve reached that time of the year where I raid the cupboards, check my B.B. dates and wonder why on earth I always buy so much food.  I believe most people tackle this job in Spring but I’m always too busy enjoying the longer, warmer days and dreaming up gluten free fruit tarts, plus I find it easier to remember to do it at the end of the year…..

As you can imagine it’s quite an exciting task and one I knew you would all delight in sharing with me, hence the post ;)…

so, for those of you who go to people’s houses and excuse yourself to go the the toilet have a nose on the bathroom cupboards.😉

Here are the items from my cupboard that made the cut:

Ras el hanout, vanilla chestnut spread, pink peppercorns, an almost empty tub of Peruvian cocoa nibs, a few packets of Z sweet, a bar of white chocolate, milk chocolate and a half eaten bar of dark chocolate, mince pie filling ( I know, I’ll have to wait till next year to use that one). Black rice noodles, arborio risotto rice, brown rice vermicelli, wild rice, dosai lentil pancake mix, dried stoned dates, and a packet of crushed gluten-free ice cream cones (don’t ask!) Brown rice syrup, date syrup, half a jar of blackstrap molasses, half a bottle of agave nectar

and chestnut flour

what seems like kilos and kilos of chestnut flour.

I discovered chestnut flour about this time last year and it’s pretty expensive so I guess that’s why I decided to hoard it for 364 days right up until 24 hours before it was a goner!

I define this recipe and possibly chestnut flour in general as the Marmite of baking.  Definitely a love it or hate it kind of deal, for me, I go through phases which could also explain why the chestnut flour was left in the cupboard for so long.

It has an interesting flavour and is a new take on the traditional pound cake recipe so give it a go….

Oh!  This recipe was also an experiment to see if you could make a tasty pound cake using honey as a sugar replacement it gave a nice light sticky texture and a smooth malty kick.

Purple cornflour and Black rice flour are next on my hitlist! Just a few days left for those babies, so if you can think of anything you’d like me to bake with them gimme a shout before it’s too late!

In the meantime

Enjoy…..

Chestnut Pound Cake

Serves 8 (one 8 inch pan)

  • 1 cup/200g of brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup/60g of chestnut flour
  • 1/4 of tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 of tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 of tsp salt
  • 2 eggs (at room temperature)
  • 8 tablespoons vegetable oil (I used rapeseed)
  • 3/4 cup/200ml italian forest honey.
  • 1/3 cup/100ml buttermilk

Preheat oven to 325°F/150°C

Grease an 8 inch baking pan and set aside.

In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt together, then sift the mixture three times.

In a small bowl, whisk eggs with a fork to combine yolks and whites then set aside

In another large bowl mix oil and honey, then being careful to stir rather than beat, add 1/3 of the flour  mixture then mix together, add 1/2 of the buttermilk and mix again, add half of the remaining flour, then all the remaining buttermilk, then lastly add the remaining flour and mix together.

Scrape batter into prepared pan and bake until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. (I baked it for 40 – 50 minutes)

Adapted from Alice Medrich’s Pure Dessert

Quatre-quarts à la farine de chataîgne

Pour 8 personnes

  • 200g de farine de riz complète
  • 60g de farine de chataîgne
  • 1/4 c à c poudre à lever
  • 1/4 c à c bicarbonate de soude
  • 1/4 c à c de sel
  • 2 oeufs
  • 8 c à s d’huile végétale
  • 200ml de miel
  • 100ml de lait ribot

Préchauffez le four à 325°F/150°C

Beurrez un moule  à gâteau de 20cm.

Dans un grand bol, fouettez les farines, le sel, le bicarbonate de soude et le poudre à lever.

Dans un petit bol à l’aide d’une fourchette, battez bien les œufs puis mettez de côté.

Dans un autre grand bol, mélangez l’huile et le miel puis ajoutez 1/3 du mélange farine, puis au fur à mesure ajoutez 1/2 du lait ribot , mélangez à nouveau puis ajoutez 1/2 de la farine restante, mélangez, et en dernier lieu, ajoutez le reste du lait ribot puis le reste de la farine.

Versez la pâte dans le moule préparé

Enfournez pendant 40 à 50 minutes.

d’Alice Medrich’s Pure Dessert

7 thoughts on “Chestnut Pound Cake/Quatre-quarts à la farine de chataîgne

  1. I’ve never used chestnut flourbefore, but there is a new range of packet mixes with it that has just been released at the supermarkets. I’m not a fan of pre mixes, but got one to try before I decided to invest in some chestnut flour myself. I love the purple cornflour but usually just use it to make tortillas. Would love to see what you come up with.
    Happy New Year!

  2. Hey inTolerant Chef! I like to stay away from packet mixes too, but some of them are actually pretty good! If I were you, I’d give chestnut flour a go, just to see what side of the love it or hate it fence you’re on! I still have no idea what to do with the purple cornflour, but tortillas sound good! Happy New Year to you too!🙂

  3. This looks great! I love baking with honey. I have never used chestnut flour before, and I am pretty sure I won’t be able to find any in my town. I would have to order it or make some of my own. What sort of flavor/texture does it have? By the way, I love that your recipes have whole grains and no “filler” starches. The recipes I have tried have turned out wonderful!

  4. Chestnut flour the marmite of baking? I love it. 🙂

    This cake looks so deliciously fluffy and light. Wonderful. Haven’t tried chestnut flour myself, but do love the flavour of chestnuts so will need to fork out the money and buy some one day!🙂

Leave a Reply

