Gluten Free Breakfast Special

Image

I was recently on a long haul flight to Brazil and for breakfast I was served five (yes I counted them) grapes and orange juice as my gluten free meal.  I decided to share this with some Curious Baker fans and one of them asked why I didn’t react and name and shame the airline.  I guess the sad truth is I’m so used to bad gluten free alternatives.   I rolled my eyes, shrugged my shoulders and handed it back to them without saying a word, simply because I expected the food to be bad. I know what you’re thinking; ‘Lola it’s aeroplane food, it’s supposed to be bad.’ and you’re right but when you’re offered a dry rice cake, some fruit and water on an 8 hour flight, it’s not fun.

Anyway, talking about this got me thinking, …there’s a real lack of awareness, when it comes to gluten free food, especially breakfast, people just freak out when you say you’re gluten free and tend to focus on what you can’t eat and forget the large number of things you CAN.  Going to Brazil reminded me that there were so many other options, apart from the usual sandwich and cereal fare,  so I’ve decided to do a gluten free breakfast special, for the month of September, touching on recipes, ingredients and food combos I’ve picked up from my travels.

Stay tuned:)

In the meantime, here are a couple of recipes that currently on The Curious Baker blog that can be eaten for breakfast:

Gluten free Ricotta Hotcakes

Teff Waffles

Sugar-crusted popovers

Apple and Buckwheat Pancakes

Buckwheat and Prune Oatmeal Biscuits

Gluten free Hazelnut Pancakes

Jamaican Spiced Bun

Rosewater glazed date and orange scones

Leave a Reply

